nothin’ like bird food for breakfast

Have you ever heard of Farro?

Don’t worry, I hadn’t either until about two months ago. I received a package in the mail from the company Foodzie with their monthly tasting box! It was a one time trial, and because I am a poor college student I couldn’t afford the continuous monthly packages, but let me tell you, I quickly fell in LOVE with this company. I might even splurge a little bit this month to receive the tasting  box again.. I miss it!

Foodzie describes itself as “an online marketplace where you can discover and buy food directly from small passionate food producers and growers.” You can choose from hundreds of artisan food items to purchase individually, or choose to receive the monthly tasting box, a package shipped to your door each month, containing six individually packaged samples that are completely delicious!

As if you can’t already tell, I definitely recommend this site. Yum yum yum.

Anywhoooo, during the summer I recieved a tasting box containing a sample of Bluebird Grain Farms farro.

What is farro? The company describes their emmer farro as:

“This old world heirloom dates back to early civilization. The term Emmer refers to the type or species of grain. Emmer is the original farro (old world grain), a simple grain of 28 chromosones that pre-dates spelt. It is prepared like brown rice, cooks in 50-60 minutes or can be soaked overnight to reduce the cooking time. It makes a fabulous pilaf, grain salad, rissoto, additive to soup, or sprouted for breads and salads. When cooked, its dark, plump berries add sweet, full-bodied flavor, chewy texture, and high nutritional value (over 16% protein) to every meal. It is a lovely, versatile grain that is a staple in our household.”

So when I ran out of oatmeal this morning and quickly realized that I didn’t have any other breakfast foods in the apartment, I decided to cook up some farro to replace my morning oats and pb 🙂

To cook the farro, you basically boil the farro in water with a 2:1 ratio of water:farro (for example, I used two cups of water and one cup of farro). Depending on how you like the texture, it can be cooked from anywhere from 20=50 minutes. I like the slight crunch that cooking it for less time gives it, so I cooked mine for about 20 minutes. It turned out wonderfully.

When it’s all done, it looks like this:

Steamy, hot, bird food goodness 😉

To add a little somethin’ somethin’ to mine, I prepared it the same way I prepare my oatmeal.. with a heaping spoonful of pb stirred in and sprinkled with a little cinnamon and a pinch of brown sugar.. DELISH!

Looks kinda funky, but I promise, you won’t go back to judging bird food any time soon 🙂

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

